OFFICIAL PLAN REVIEW

Official Plan Title Page



King Township has prepared a final draft Our King Official Plan (September 2019). The intent of the Official Plan is to establish a comprehensive, long-term vision for the future of the Township as a whole and a detailed policy framework to guide growth and development in the Township’s Villages, Hamlets and rural area. The draft Official Plan addresses the Township’s long-term planning requirements to the year 2031 and brings the Township into conformity with recent Provincial and upper-tier land use policy direction.

The final draft Our King Official Plan (September 2019) is now available for review. It can be found under the in the Document Library on this page.

Don't forget to subscribe to receive email updates!





King Township has prepared a final draft Our King Official Plan (September 2019). The intent of the Official Plan is to establish a comprehensive, long-term vision for the future of the Township as a whole and a detailed policy framework to guide growth and development in the Township’s Villages, Hamlets and rural area. The draft Official Plan addresses the Township’s long-term planning requirements to the year 2031 and brings the Township into conformity with recent Provincial and upper-tier land use policy direction.

The final draft Our King Official Plan (September 2019) is now available for review. It can be found under the in the Document Library on this page.

Don't forget to subscribe to receive email updates!



  • Our King, Official Plan Aopted by Council on September 23, 2019!

    8 days ago

    King Township Council adopted the Our King Official Plan with changes on September 23, 2019. The changes resulted in:

    1. A Site Specific Policy Area (SSPA-4) being added to Schedule D1 for the Kingscross Estate Residential Area and corresponding text in Section 5.17.4 to identify a minimum lot area of 0.81 hectares (2 acres); and
    2. Modifications to Schedule D1 to change the extent of the Village Core, Mixed Use, and Established Neighbourhood designations in the area located on Keele Street, north of King Road.
    The above noted changes have been incorporated into the final Our King...

    King Township Council adopted the Our King Official Plan with changes on September 23, 2019. The changes resulted in:

    1. A Site Specific Policy Area (SSPA-4) being added to Schedule D1 for the Kingscross Estate Residential Area and corresponding text in Section 5.17.4 to identify a minimum lot area of 0.81 hectares (2 acres); and
    2. Modifications to Schedule D1 to change the extent of the Village Core, Mixed Use, and Established Neighbourhood designations in the area located on Keele Street, north of King Road.
    The above noted changes have been incorporated into the final Our King Official Plan and can be found in the Document Library on Speaking.
  • King Township’s Official Plan Review continues to progress!

    about 1 month ago

    We are pleased to announce that the final draft Our King Official Plan (September 2019) will be presented to Council for consideration of adoption together with a recommendation report on Monday, September 23, 2019 (Council Chambers, King Township Municipal Centre, 2585 King Road, King City).







    We are pleased to announce that the final draft Our King Official Plan (September 2019) will be presented to Council for consideration of adoption together with a recommendation report on Monday, September 23, 2019 (Council Chambers, King Township Municipal Centre, 2585 King Road, King City).







  • Thank You for Your Participation!

    4 months ago
    The Official Plan Review Team thanks everyone for their comments and participation in the Township-wide Open House and Statutory Public Meeting that took place on June 27th, 2019.

    We will continue to accept comments on the draft Our King Official Plan (June 2019) until July 31, 2019. Please send comments to Kristen Harrison, Policy Planner (kharrison@king.ca).

    The Official Plan Review Team thanks everyone for their comments and participation in the Township-wide Open House and Statutory Public Meeting that took place on June 27th, 2019.

    We will continue to accept comments on the draft Our King Official Plan (June 2019) until July 31, 2019. Please send comments to Kristen Harrison, Policy Planner (kharrison@king.ca).

  • King Township’s Official Plan Review continues to progress!

    4 months ago

    King Township’s Official Plan Review continues to progress!

    You are invited to attend an Open House and Statutory Public Meeting to ask questions and provide comments on King Township’s proposed Our King Official Plan (June 2019) and schedules. The proposed Our King Official Plan (June 2019) articulates King’s vision to the planning horizon 2031 and establishes a comprehensive and detailed policy framework to guide growth and development in the Township’s Villages, Hamlets and Rural Area. The Our King Official Plan (June 2019) addresses upper-tier legislation and integrates recent Township documents and initiatives. The Our King Official Plan (June 2019)...

    King Township’s Official Plan Review continues to progress!

    You are invited to attend an Open House and Statutory Public Meeting to ask questions and provide comments on King Township’s proposed Our King Official Plan (June 2019) and schedules. The proposed Our King Official Plan (June 2019) articulates King’s vision to the planning horizon 2031 and establishes a comprehensive and detailed policy framework to guide growth and development in the Township’s Villages, Hamlets and Rural Area. The Our King Official Plan (June 2019) addresses upper-tier legislation and integrates recent Township documents and initiatives. The Our King Official Plan (June 2019) will apply to the entirety of the Township of King. A track changes version of the Our King Official Plan (June 2019) is available on Speaking.

    OPEN HOUSE: The purpose of the Open House is to provide the public with the opportunity to review and discuss the proposed new Our King Draft Official Plan (June 2019) with Township Planning staff and the Official Plan Review Consultant, WSP.

    The Open House will be held: Thursday, June 27, 2019 from 2:30 p.m. to 5:30pm at the King Township Municipal Centre, 2585 King Road, King City

    STATUTORY PUBLIC MEETING: The purpose of the Statutory Public Meeting is to provide the public with the opportunity to provide comments to Township Council on the proposed Our King Official Plan (June 2019), and for Council to consider the feedback prior to adopting the new Official Plan.

    The Statutory Public Meeting will be held:Thursday, June 27, 2019, at 6:00pm at the King Township Municipal Centre, 2585 King Road, King City

    For further details on the Open House and Statutory Public meeting please refer to a copy of the Notice.

    Thank you to all those who have submitted feedback on the draft Official Plan to date. Given the number of submissions received, the Official Plan Review team is still working through the comments and will be considering submissions further over the summer of 2019.

    Please forward comments on the draft Our King Official Plan (June 2019) to the attention of Kristen Harrison, Policy Planner, Township of King, 2585 King Road, King City, Ontario L7B 1A1, or by email to kharrison@king.ca. Comments on the draft Our King Official Plan (June 2019) will be accepted up until July 31, 2019.